9–12 September 2019

Congress Center Basel

Travel fellowships

ISB Travel Fellowships

The ISB International Society for Biocuration is a non-profit organisation for biocurators, developers, and researchers with an interest in biocuration. The society promotes the field of biocuration and provides a forum for information exchange through meeting and workshops.

ISB is happy to announce that it will provide two travel fellowships to current ISB members aiming to attend the [BC]2 Basel Computational Biology Conference. Students, junior curators, curators from low-income countries, and curators from countries suffering from natural disasters are encouraged to apply.

Please note

  1. In order to apply to the travel fellowship, you need to be a member of ISB. For further details on the benefits of being a member and how to become one, please have a look at the ISB membership guidelines.
  2. Applying for a fellowship does not guarantee that you will receive funding.


Each travel fellowship will be issued as CHF 500 one-time payment to cover the travel expenses (e.g. flight and ground transportation) to [BC]2.

  • ISB Travel Fellows will receive the funds after the decision has been taken. Registration and organisation of the travel has to be organised by the ISB Travel Fellows themselves.
  • Once notified, ISB Travel Fellows have to register to the conference.

Requirements and Procedures

Each applicant for a travel fellowship must satisfy the following conditions:

  • The applicant must be an active ISB member.
  • The applicant must submit an accompanying letter explaining why s/he is requesting travel funds and how s/he envisions that attending the [BC]2 conference will benefit her/his career.
  • Application Deadline: application materials should be sent via email to bc2[at] with the subject line 'ISB Travel Fellowships to [BC]2 2019' latest by Sunday, 16 June 2019, 23:59 CET.


Notification of award will be sent via email on 24 June, 2019 and announced on the ISB and [BC]2 website after acceptance of the award.